l Sorry for a somber last update for the wkend l

| Friday, Aug. 15, 2003 || 4:11 p.m. |

A beautiful �Littlebird� has lost her wings�

From an email I received moments ago

Hello friends and fans,

I have horrible news. My partner, Littlebird, was found dead about 300 yards south of Lands End in San Francisco on Friday. I don't even know what to say...she was missing for over 2 days when friends of hers found her in her favorite place to climb, by the ocean. It�s gorgeous there. She had never brought me there but I knew that's where she'd be. I tried so hard to find her but couldn't.

I am devastated. We wanted to be together forever. We had just affirmed that the morning before she left. So then... there is everything else since then. Her family doesn't respect our relationship. We hadn't yet filed for domestic partnership, so I had no legal protection. I was not legally next of kin. The family came to our home and took everything they could. It was horrible. I feel raped. Even some of her friends came here to act like vultures.

I am grieving hard and have amazing friends around me all the time. They couldn't believe how strong and calm I was in the face of such disrespect. Thanks to everyone who's given me support through this.

There is a memorial service on Sunday at 3pm at MCC SF 150 Eureka St in the Castro. I will be planning my own private memorial service as well. Tomorrow there is a funeral being held in Richmond VA, her hometown. Her family didn't tell me about the funeral because they didn't want me there, but some of you on the east coast may want to attend...I don't even know what to say. It�s just so hard.

I wanted you all to know because I�ve been telling you all about Littlebird for so long and any of you have seen us perform our music together.

Please keep Littlebird and me in your prayers. This of course is changing my plans.

We were about to tour through the southwest and across the country together in October and November and to move to RI together in December. I will still move to RI, but the timing and route is unclear. I may not tour this fall at all. I will of course continue touring as soon as I can get on with my life.

I am trying to give myself plenty of time to grieve my sweetheart, friend, lover, music partner, life partner and soul mate, Littlebird.

Many blessings

Kristi Martel, alt-soul piano diva

Sealed Lip Records
POB 30484
Oakland CA 94604
510-219-9802

"A fine musician...incomparable!" - Utah Phillips

| Deeper | throughts | Remembered |

I want her to want me I need for me to not want her - November 08, 2012
T.r.o.u.b.l.e is A.n.g.i.e. - November 06, 2012
So much has changed - October 29, 2012
Set in Stone - January 10, 2012
A lil teasing is considered foreplay. - December 21, 2011