l Medical technology can be a scary thing l

| March 24, 2004 || 10:24 a.m. |

I remember now what I wanted to share with you all.

My mom talked to me about her getting some gene testing done that determines if she is carrying the inherited cancer gene which would give her a higher risk of a relapse or something. Well the thing that scares me is if she tests positive for this gene then her insurance send mine a letter so they can offer to pay for the test for myself. A lot of women lately when testing positive for this gene are just going & having a mastectomy so they won�t ever have to go through the breast cancer ordeal. It�s something they pay for entirely so that is not an issue. I am scared to find out if I will be carrying the cancer gene & get breast cancer down the road. I don�t want to just lop off my breast either just to prevent getting it. As soon as she shared this w/ me I said that I would have to just pop out a few kids so I could breast feed & then have them removed & reconstructed [bigger of course].

My chances of this are extremely high since cancer is prevalent on both of my mom�s side of the family & both sides of my Dad�s. This scares the crap out of me. 24 years old & possibly finding out if I�ll get breast cancer. I know that preventing it is a good thing since insurance pays for the mastectomy & reconstruction but I like my tiny breasts even if I have said I�d get implants. I�d always get them after having children.

What would you do? Would you end up popping out a few kids? That would give me a better excuse to get pregnant rather then just having a �happy accident�. But I guess all I can do is face that obstacle when I get to it; when that time does come & if I do test positive then I will have to sit & have a very serious talk w/ my Boo. Wow, that is a lot to think about for today.

| Deeper | throughts | Remembered |

I want her to want me I need for me to not want her - November 08, 2012
T.r.o.u.b.l.e is A.n.g.i.e. - November 06, 2012
So much has changed - October 29, 2012
Set in Stone - January 10, 2012
A lil teasing is considered foreplay. - December 21, 2011